Why can I not tell my own story?

Ze’eva Cohen reflects on documenting a life in dance

Throughout my long life as dancer and choreographer I have been saving programs, reviews and videos of my own performances.  When video formats became obsolete, I transferred them to the next viable format- -so that videos made in the 70’s have been through as many as five conversions. Considering my incredibly busy life as dancer, choreographer, academic, mother and wife, the answer to the question of why I took the trouble and bore the expense to do this only became clear as I retired from my 40 years teaching at Princeton University and as my career as dancer and choreographer was winding down. It was then that I began to think seriously about leaving a legacy of my work, and decided to produce a documentary film of my life in dance based on materials preserved at home, and as told in my own voice.

READ MORE

Leave a Reply

